Williamstown Literary Festival Association

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 17 October 2013, Williamstown Library, Williamstown, 8pm

Present: Janet Dawes, Pamela Wiseman, Megan Smith, Lorraine Callow, Jacqui Bateman, Alison Brideson, Catherine Ryan, Clare Saxby, Chris Ringrose, Liz Groves, Jackie Kerin, Rosemary Clark, Suzanne Gately, Carol Winfield, Lowen Clarke, Helenka King

Apologies: Danielle Ross Williams

Welcome: The President, Angela Altair, welcomed everyone to the meeting

Minutes of 2013 AGM

Motion: The Minutes be received without amendment as a true and accurate record of proceedings Moved: Pamela Wiseman Seconded: Lowen Clarke Motion carried

President's Report

The President spoke to her report. The tenth WillyLitFest was held a month later than usual to allow more time for planning. The official opening was on Saturday morning instead of Friday night. Entrants for the Ada Cambridge prizes were at a record high. Despite issues with lack of sponsorship monies, ticket sales, and the weather, the festival had some great moments.

Motion: The President's report be received. Moved: Jacqui Bateman Seconded: Lowen Clarke Motion carried

Treasurers Report

Pamela Wiseman spoke to her report. The profit and loss for the year to 30 June, 2013 shows an operating loss of \$4,924. The banlance sheet shows a total equity of deficit \$1,582. It is expected that a grant from Hobsons Bay Council will be sufficient to cover the deficit. The losses of the last two years show that issues in maintaining sustainable income levels need to be addressed.

Motion:The treasurer's report to be received.Moved:Helenka KingSeconded:Jacqui BatemanMotion carried

Election of Committee

All positions were declared vacant and the President stepped down, handing control of the meeting to Janet Dawes.

Election of President.

Candidate: Angela Altair, nominated by Lowen Clarke, seconded by Jacqui Bateman.

Angela Altair was elected president unopposed.

Angela Altair resumed as chair of the meeting.

Election of Vice President

Candidate: Lowen Clarke, nominated by Helenka King, seconded by Angela Altair

Lowen Clarke was elected vice president unopposed.

Election of Treasurer

There was no nomination for treasurer.

Election of Secretary

Candidate: Alison Brideson, nominated by Angela Altair, seconded by Helenka King

Alison Brideson was elected secretary unopposed.

Election of Ordinary members

The following were elected unopposed. Carol Winfield, nominated by seconded by Liz Groves, nominated by , seconded by Chris Ringrose Suzanne Gately, nominated by , seconded by Lorraine Callow, nominated by seconded by

The meeting closed at 8.30pm