## Williamstown Literary Festival Annual General Meeting Monday 17<sup>th</sup> August 2015; 6.00pm Williamstown Town Hall, 104 Ferguson Street, Williamstown

Item	Notes and actions
Attendees	Angela Altair, Loraine Callow, Renee Caruana, Brian Christopher, Lowen Clarke, Megan Darling, Janet Dawes, Elisabeth Grove, Michelle Holloway, Barbara Hughes, Jackie Kerin, Tracy Margieson, Suzanne Martin, Chris Ringrose, Alison Standish, John Webb, Carol Winfield
Apologies	Terry Bracks, Jodie Flood, Wenche Osland, Joanne Smith
1	Opening The President declared the meeting open at 6.15pm
2	Apologies Apologies noted as above
3 Motion	Minutes of the previous AGM (08/09/14)  That the minutes of the last AGM held on 8 <sup>th</sup> September 2014 be received as a true and accurate record Moved: Chris Ringrose Seconded: Elisabeth Grove Carried
4 Motion	Minutes of the Special General Meeting (13/04/15)  That the minutes of the Special General Meeting held on 13 <sup>th</sup> April 2015 be received as a true and accurate record  Moved: Loraine Callow Seconded: Suzanne Martin  Carried
5	Business Arising Nil
6 Motion	Reports  President's Report  President, Angela Altair, presented her report to the meeting.  Angela noted that the 2015 Festival had been a superb team effort and thanked the committee for their hard work. She also commended Executive Officer, Tracy Margieson. Angela commented on the revamped Ada Cambridge Awards (The Adas) and thanked the sub-committee. Angela praised the work of Loraine Callow and her team on the excellent 2015 program. She then thanked the Festival's sponsors and supporters, giving special mention to Janet Dawes and the Hobsons Bay City Council and Victoria University.  That the President's Report, as tabled, be accepted  Moved: Lowen Clarke  Seconded: Elisabeth Grove  Carried
	Secretary's Report Secretary, Barbara Hughes, presented her report to the meeting. Barbara reported on the completion of several statutory requirements throughout the year, In particular the Special General Meeting which was held in April 2015 to adopt the model rules.

Motion That the Secretary's Report, as tabled, be accepted Moved: John Webb Seconded: Suzanne Martin Carried Treasurer's Report Treasurer, Brian Christopher, presented his report to the meeting. Brian noted that the year ended 30 June 2015 was a successful one in financial terms with our net assets increasing to \$19,334. Brian also pointed out that, while revenue from ticket sales had increased, sponsorship revenue had remained static. Motion That the Treasurer's Report, as tabled, be accepted Moved: Alison Standish Seconded: Elisabeth Grove Carried Angela asked whether WLF would continue to use Bendigo Bank as the Festival's banker. Brian commented that while there was no need to change banks at present, this could be looked at in the future. **Executive Officer's Report** Executive Officer, Tracy Margieson, presented her report to the meeting. Tracy noted some pluses from this year's Festival including the improved communication with authors. Tracy thanked Brian Christopher for his professionalism and thanked the committee for their support. She noted that improvements in budgeting had led to increased ticket revenue. Tracy also gave some insight into the process of choosing new colours to refresh the Festival's branding. That the Executive Officer's Report, as tabled, be accepted Motion Moved: Carol Winfield Seconded: John Webb Carried 7 **Election of Office Bearers** The president stepped down, handing control of the meeting to Janet Dawes All committee positions were declared vacant Janet spoke on behalf of Hobsons Bay City Council to commend the work of the Festival Committee. She noted that the Willy Lit Fest is the centrepiece of the Council's Winter cultural calendar and offered the continuing support of the Council. Nominations were received for the following positions: President: Angela Altair Vice-President: John Webb Barbara Hughes Secretary: Brian Christopher Treasurer: There being no further nominations, the office bearers were duly elected. The President resumed the chair 8 **Election of General Committee** 

That the number of General Committee positions for the coming committee year remains at eight.

Motion

Moved: Carol Winfield

	Seconded: Alison Standish
	Carried
	Nominations for General Committee were received from: Loraine Callow Lowen Clarke Elisabeth Grove Michelle Holloway Sue Martin Chris Ringrose Alison Standish Carol Winfield
	There being the same number of nominations as the available General Committee positions, these members were duly elected.
9	Agenda Business Nil
10	General Business  Angela noted that the Festival committee, members and friends were saddened at the loss of our founding patron, Joan Kirner. The incoming committee will decide on a lasting commemoration to honour Mrs. Kirner's contribution.
11	Next Meeting  The 2016 Annual General Meeting will be held as soon as practicable after the 2016 Festival but no later than 30 November 2016.
12	Close The President declared the meeting closed at 7.05pm